The One Where I Figured It Out

It’s just occurred to me that, in the interests in keeping this blog coherent for my mythical readership, I should update you on the revelation to which my series of recent wangst posts has lead. Although, really, I can’t credit my own introspection. I was ranting at Alexander when he said it, and it was only once he said it, and I did a bit of research, that I realized that was the case.

I am codependent.

My sense of responsibility for the emotions of others, my compassion fatigue, my contrary need to hide my feelings and have them validated, etcetera, etcetera, are all tied up in my codependence. I never realized I was codependent, because I thought codependence was needing someone to take care of you. It turns out codependence is needing to be needed, and, loathe as I am to admit it, everything I’ve read fits me to a t.

Recovery is going to be a long, arduous process. And you will probably hear all about it. But, hey, admitting you have a problem is the first step to solving it, right?

~ by onetiddlyridley on March 29, 2011.

Leave a Reply

 
